St Catherine's Catholic School


St Catherine’s Catholic School is a standalone academy trust, a company limited by guarantee and a charitable trust.

Responsibility for the Academy and for the funds granted by Parliament for providing education in it, is entrusted to the Board of Trustees.

Trustees are also the Directors of the company and Governors.

The Trust/Governing Board focuses on the four core functions of governance:

  • Ensuring there is clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction 
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils and the performance management of staff 
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent 
  • Ensuring the voices of stakeholders are heard  

As the composition of the governing body at St Catherine’s is currently small, the majority of academy business is carried out by the full governing body.  However, the following committees are in place and hold key responsibilities:

  • Finance and Resources with Audit, Risk and Compliance
  • Curriculum and Standards
  • Pay and Staffing 
  • Admissions 
  • Head Teachers Performance Review

Current Trustees/Directors/Governors


Name Appointed by Appointment Date
Lyn Bourne Members 22 Jun 2019
Rosemary Gould Members 01 Jan 2022
Congregation of La Sainte Union as a Corporate Member Original (signatory) members 01 Dec 2011
Anthony Moffatt Members 01 Sept 2023

 Governor Details

Name Type of Governor Roles Committee Term Starts Term Ends
Anthony Moffatt Foundation Governor

Chair of Governors 



Curriculum and Standards Finance and Resources HT Performance Review Pay and Staffing 01 Sept 2023 31 Aug 2024
David Hackett Foundation Governor Vice Chair of Governors HT Performance Review Pay and Staffing 01 May 2021 30 Apr 2025
Nigel Mascarenhas Foundation Governor Chair of Curriculum and Standards Health and Safety Diversity/ Race Charter Wellbeing (Staff and Pupils) PSHE Curriculum and Standards Admissions 01 Oct 2020 30 Sep 2024
Kim Nguyen-Quan Foundation Governor Chair of Finance and Resources Finance and Resources Curriclum and Standards 02 Mar 2021 01 Mar 2025
Nicola Thompson

Head Teacher

Finance and Resouces Curriclum and Standards Admissons Pay and Staffing 01 Sep 2021
Charley Davis Staff Governor Finance and Resources Committee 01 Nov 2022 31 Oct 2024
Carmel Britto Parent Governor Chair of Admissions, Curriculum and Assessment Admissions Committee Curriculum and Standards Committee 16 Jan 2023 15 Jan 2027
Leah Myles Watson Foundation Governor RE/ Catholic Life of the School Finance and Resouces Committee 25 June 2023 24 June 2027
Mark O'Shaughnessy Foundation Governor Safeguarding, Looked After Children and Pupil Premium Curriculum and Standards Committe 01 Sept 2023 31 Aug 2027
Paula Andrea Sanchez Parent Governor 02 Nov 2023 01 Nov 2027

 Resignations in the Last 12 Months

Name Type of Governor Date
Maureen Williams Member 06 Dec 2022
Robert Clarke Foundation Governor 31 Aug 2023
Tracey Aromolaran
Parent Governor 25 Sept 2023
James Rouse Member 01 Sept 2023
Sr Michele Totman Member 05 Oct 2023

The Clerk to Governors, Catriona Tuplin can be contacted via  Any communications for the Chair of Governors should be sent to her via the Clerk. Alternatively, you can write to her at the school. All communications will be treated with the strictest of confidence.

Please see attachments below for details of attendance at Governors’ meetings, Business & Pecuniary interests, Scheme of Delegation and Articles of Association.